Off chocolate?

Come on.  Admit it.  You have eaten more chocolate than is good for you and all the advertisements for diets and health products are making you feel guilty.
I know – it happens every year.  Sit and watch tv for an hour or so and you will be bombarded by advertisements for holidays, diets, furniture and digestive relief.  Thank goodness for the BBC! (no ads)
I sit and type this with wobbling hands – no, not a hangover (I’m not an Alan Bennett VW) but a sufferer from festive flu – or a virus… or something.  Suffice it to say that the Toblerone didn’t get its outing to the party (although I understand that someone else had the same idea – involving a clothes airer and an old sheet!)  I promise to dress up though and stick the photo on the site – for all of you who didn’t really believe me.
No, instead of partying I took to my bed and ached.
The party was, I hear, a huge success – in spite of some 20 people being laid low with illness.  Roll on a sharp bit of winter weather to kill some of these germs.
Sitting tucked up on the sofa, under a blanket, sipping fruit tea and considering taking out shares in Kleenex, whilst hearing from one’s friend just how good the party was, was a depressing experience.   I’m really really pleased that the party was such fun.  My friend put so much effort into it.  It was just the sort of party that one speaks of for years.  Come to think of it, I haven’t been to such a party for years. I am truly sorry that I could not be there and I’M FED UP WITH FEELING ILL!
Good.  I feel better for that.  Thank you for listening.
Anti-biotics are fantastic.  Without them I know I would be heading towards a Dickensian decline.  But they do depress one.  So, on with some home-spun spirit-lifting effort.  I’ll make a sustaining bowl of soup and tuck up with a book,,,,
and a bar of chocolate 🙂
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off chocolate?

  1. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

     If I were nearby I would bring you some chocolate – dark chocolate, mabe even reeeeeally dark chocolate (our favorite).  We like Lindt chocolates in particular.  When we find them on sale we buy bags of Lindt truffles – 60% cocoa.  We’ve even had Lindt bars that are 70-74%.  With the truffles, I like to pop some walnut pieces in with each bite – seems to make it go further, last longer.  <g>   When the Lindt bars are on sale I like to get the dark chocolate and orange or dark chocolate and pear – deeeelish.   Now, didn’t that pep you up!!?   Sorry you’re still ill – but I hope that dissertation on Lindt dark chocolates gives you something to "chew" on til you’re up and about (and able to go look for some in your local stores).   Take care…   Nancy 

  2. Anne says:

    Thank you Nancy – a real pep-up and only a virtual one – so no calories!  Hurray!  Stuck-in-a-book has just arrived for a long weekend, so I feel cheered already.  He’s taken The Photo too, so I’ll try to sort it out tomorrow.
    Anne

Leave a Reply

