OK I won’t be a Scrooge

Christmas is a commin’ and Stuck In A Book is already nagging me over the Christmas tree!  It’s OK Simon – I’ve got it sorted so that You have the tree of your dreams, but My money goes to buy a goat!
Our Vicarage is looking very seasonal.  That is to say, there are piles of festive goodies beginning to pile up in the kitchen (no room in the cupboards) – most of these require my baking skills, but some have been acquired via the usual round of Festive tombolas (school Christmas fairs and a village supper) – boxes of biscuits and chocolates. Much relief last night when I didn’t win the brace of pheasant!
Other signs of Christmas?  Stacks of bits and pieces for Christmas card and decoration-making, a large doll’s house.. waiting here before moving on elsewhere, a barrel full of half-made Nativity costumes for the under 5’s group, several freshly painted cardboard boxes (yellow) in the process of being turned into ‘straw bales’ for the ‘stable’, oh, and several other boxes full of fairtrade goods – I’ve just become a Fairtrade Trader.  Ah, I do love Christmas!
Down in the Honey Pot a long table groans under its weight of Christmas crafts for sale – they washed in from another event and filled the hallway for a few days before I swept them out to the garage/Honey Pot.
Yesterday the storms and gales caused some difficulties for us here ‘down west’.  Not many people ventured to the Honey Pot through wind and tempest – but it was good that we opened. My faithful helper – Liz – was there with a broom to brush out the flood waters which threatened the front of the garage. (She did a good job dusting the books as well!)  One particular gust knocked over the heavily built stall we keep out on the driveway for plants and produce. (The same gust burst open the door to our loft.)  Slight worry now, as the stall is to be repositioned this week and transformed into a crib – plus guy ropes?  It was used in its undeveloped form last year, but since then Peter the carpenter has tranfsormed it into a seriously smart trolley.  Good news you would think – a good place for Mary and Joseph to shelter over Christmas.  Yes, but aforementioned M & J, made on a framework of hazel sticks, were too tall even for last year and had to be forced into the mud.  This year they will have to shrink in order to fit into the stable… and interesting problem for yours truly!
So, must thread a needle now and mend Mary’s dress + make some new angel’s wings. Lovely.
Tomorrow… how to put all the arriving Christmas cards out of the way while we write our own – must try not to be distracted by the incoming newsletters!
Oh, and MUST learn my lines for the village show!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OK I won’t be a Scrooge

  1. Colin says:

    I believe in you, ma. I’m sure Mary & Joseph will fit like… well, like people. It’ll be great.Oh, and I’m sure you’ll learn your lines. Well, I’m less sure of that.

Leave a Reply

