busy busy

You know the feeling of Christmas coming towards you like a pantechnicon out of control?  It looms over you and you realise that all the plans of previous years – "next year I’ll get started earlier / be more organised / avoid the busiest shopping days / plan my menus better / make more things myself….." have all gone by the board again.  Hey ho – that’s life.  My problem is that there are so many "extras" over which I seem to have little control.  Mind you, I have to confess that I still find myself saying "Yes, I’ll do that – no problem" when what I ought to say is "I’d love to do that, but I just don’t have the time – could you find someone else please?"  Must practise in front of the mirror!
So, what is all this busy-ness, I hear you ask?  Here goes: (I’ll leave out the obvious ‘shop for food & presents, housework, hospitality etc etc’ – common to us all) 
Creative Card Workshop (run); Animal Hibernacula-making Workshop (organise); Under 5’s Nativity Play (ho ho) – arrange Christmas tree, costumes, refreshments and weather (as we walk to Church!); Village Show family sketch – try to remember lines; 200 Christmas cards – make (Ok I realise I didn’t need to do that one, but…); Carol Services – attend 4; Parish suppers – two; other Christmas services (lost count); Christmas Fayres (with a ‘y’) – umpteen; oh, and immediately after Christmas entertain upwards of 60 to supper. (There’s probably more, but I just can’t face thinking about it!)
Mmmm.  Maybee I’ll go and lie down in a darkened room Buzz – but better bee up and ready for Honey Pot tomorrow!  (For those of you who wonder how we get a car into the garage during the winter months… that jigsaw must be unpacked tomorrow morning before I open it up to the public – it’s amazing how high you can stack things without them falling over … I hope!)  If I’m not back here for a while, you’ll understand why that is… I’ll try to post some photos of the workshops – especially for those of you who can’t quite visualise the hibernacula.  Enjoy the season!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

