A new friend for Buzz

Today was one of those beautiful autumn days when the sun shone from a duck-egg blue sky and made the autumn colours dance. It was a busy one too – with Honey Pot (as usual) and the village Autumn Market.  Add to this the delivery of a new bed necessitating much clearing of space and cleaning of floors, and you can see that OVW was pretty busy.  I’ve sort of cracked the ‘being in two place at the same time’ problem by generally being somewhere – with most of the right stuff at usually the right time.  More than that I cannot offer.
The stall at the market was busy and useful.  Honey Pot itself also drew in some people – so the day was worthwhile in all sorts of ways:  good publicity, fund-raising – ah, and I won a box of chocolates on the raffle!
The bed arrived (+ 2 jolly delivery men) just after 4 o’clock. We’d sorted it out and got it made up in just a few minutes – even tried it for size! Being somewhat higher than the last one it will feel as if our noses are touching the ceiling tonight!  Having been on my feet all day, my ankles were complaining and it was a fine-run thing as to whether I made supper or crashed out there and then.  (For those of you who are worried about OV – supper won!)
 
Buzz’s new friend turned up at the autumn market in the shape of a very large (twice his size) cuddly bee with 4 legs and 4 wings – and a face a bit like Mickey Mouse. Someone suggested that it might be a girl and might provide a mate for Buzz, with interesting consequences… but I feel that is a step too far
Anyway, Buzz is happily chatting to the newcomer in the corner of the sitting room and, once I’ve managed to post this, I’ll busy myself with ‘happy bags’ for the morrow and then join Buzz (protesting ankles up) with a good book!   (I’m on 2 books at the moment – one on Jane Austen’s life – with so much detail I have to come up for air; the other is a life of Daphne du Maurier – whose work got me through many an essay crisis in years gone by!)
 
Before I go – do any of you out there remember Amami?  I have been plagued this week with the phrase "Friday night’s a marmie night" and I am reliably informed today that it should be Amami night – Amami being a shampoo.  I remember my mother using the saying, in fun, but sadly never asked for details and now that generation has gone I have no close relative to ask.  Silly isn’t it, the things that bring a catch to one’s throat?
Cheerio!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new friend for Buzz

  1. Simon says:

    Can’t wait to meet him/her…!Saw an enormous dog waving at people yesterday – about man height… F was excitedSimon x

  2. mel says:

    And you all tell me that Somerset isn’t a weird place. Hope you get some mutant bee grandchildren. Would you like to be my "friend"?!
    Mel x

Leave a Reply

