Honey Pot AGM

Honey Pot is a year old and so we held the first AGM last night.  Now, I’m not exactly your committee sort of person, so I had a certain amount of difficulty running the meeting.  I forgot to get the financial bits and pieces adopted or whatever you are supposed to do with them, and really just gave a broad idea of how the first year had developed and a glimpse of the vision for the next year plus a few ideas of what might be happening in it. So I am now committed to sawing up wood with small children (no, actually with a saw – but you know what I mean) to make animal shelters (in aid of a homeless charity) and building an African shelter in the front garden – what do you know about wattle and daub?  I bet it can’t be squared with health and safety anyway!
Buzz – the bee who looks after the Honey Pot Newsletters, got extremely excited by the candle-it meeting (the scented candles hid the musty smell of the new old velvet curtains, salvaged from my parents’ attic.)  The people who came to the meeting enjoyed the ambience, the fairtrade wine and the display of paintings by local amateur artists (which looked all the better by candle-light anyway!)  It poured with rain all evening but the garage didn’t flood, which was a mercy.
I sent everyone home with plenty to think about but without having to commit themselves to helping…. yet!
Now I have put together a newsheet about the first year (handwritten with drawings) that says all the things I should have said at the AGM but forgot.  I wonder if anyone will notice?
Buzz and I spent this morning moving pictures and furniture round ready for this Saturday’s Honey Pot.  (I moved the furniture and Buzz looked n wisely saying nothing.) The ironing pile has not shrunk neither have I added to the panto script – but you can’t have everything can you?  (Still eating the wonderful apple crumble cake leftovers which get no less gloppy with the keeping… oh my waistline!)
Off to a meeting – byee.
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey Pot AGM

  1. Unknown says:

    Love the background colour – my favourite – so cheerful.Re you garden building – you are not far from the Lyme Regis area. Why not contact this community www dot monktonwyldcourt dot org   (http://www.monktonwyldcourt.org) who know all about straw bale buildings and permaculture things.Ruth

Leave a Reply

