Stuck-in-a-book ‘woz ere’

You can see that Stuck-in-a-book has been to see me – he was the one to help me find the pretty autumnal background to this – and he showed me a few other things I could do with the blog – pictures etc.  We’ll see (he’s gone now, so my ready reference is a good few miles away!)
 
He made a foray on the Honey Pot and carried away a number of books.  I see from his blog that he noted how few of his donated books had sold … give me time!
 
This week (Tuesday) is the Honey Pot’s AGM and Art Show.  A number of local amateur artists have summoned up the courage to show their work.  S-i-a-b spent much of Saturday afternoon helping me hang the paintings and sort out the furniture.  I don’t know how I would have managed on my own… so thank you.  The standard of work is very high – I’m thrilled to bits.  We’ll keep the show up for next weekend, then I’ll just have a photo-montage of the event to add to the Honey Pot diary. I may even let you have a peep too!
Those of you who esteem S-i-a-b will be pleased to know that he was paid for his labours in tea and cake!
 
To those of you who are wondering what this ‘Honey Pot’ is – it’s a second hand book shop with all sorts of other things attached to it (events/ fairtrade foods/ greetings cards / workshops of one kind and another + a cup of coffee and a chat) held once a week 10 – 12 Saturdays in my garage (very snug) and on the drive outside (weather permitting) wellies and dogs welcome.  It’s proved a great hit and has raised quite a lot of money for charities and church projects. As OVW it’s a way of supporting OV and his work in this lovely rural corner of the south-west.  It is also the reaon why the ironing pile gets higher and higher… but that’s another story.
 
I am still wrestling with the Cinderella script – few rhymes have arrived… yet.  I am particularly proud of the King’s introduction to the ball where he is welcoming the guests and, getting carried away by the rhyming plan, side-lines himself into some pretty silly well-known verse and worse.  Hoping for a laugh there!
 
Whilst S-i-a-b was with us we managed to fit in a visit to Carbon Copy and spent a merry hour or so plotting the family contribution to the village’s Christmas Variety show.  S-i-a-b & cc are responsible for the script…. oh goodness, what have OV and myself committed ourselves to doing?  Will we ever live it down?
Don’t you just LOVE home-made entertainment… some of you will remember the ‘Silly Simon Sausage Show’ – ah, those were the days!
 
Let me leave you with a delicious dessert called Apple Crumble Cake.  Make a sponge mixture.  Slop it into a greased and lined loose bottomed cake tin (I leave it to you to judge the quantity required) On top of this place sliced windfall apples (got loads this year…you can use stewed apple from the freezer if, like me, you’re awash in it!)  Sprinkle the apple with currants or raisins or sultanas to taste.  On top of that spoon a crumble mixture + cinnamon (make your own or cheat with a packet mix)  Cook in a moderate oven for about an hour – or until you reach that magical moment between not quite cooked and burnt (which is usually when the phone rings). Cool. Remove from tin and take off greaseproof paper (this may involve clever work with two plates)  Slice a dessert apple, toss it in lemon juice and arrange it artistically in the centre and then sprinkle the whole of the top with caster sugar, Serve warm or cool with custard/ icecream/ cream.  I made mine the day before, heated gently on the serving plate and served it with icecream and clotted cream. Yum Yum.
Be sure there’s enought for everyone to have two slices – because all my guests did!
 
It was all very healthy until we added the clotted cream… and sugar… and fat … and… Oh well, the apples were good!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuck-in-a-book ‘woz ere’

  1. Colin says:

    Was the apple crumble cake recipe there for my benefit? If so, thanks! Although it seems that my name is becoming ‘Carbon Copy’ throughout the interweb. I preferred Colin.

  2. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

     Ummmmm…  Love the description of that cake and would love a warm bit of it right now – with ice cream.  I might try that recipe out – or, better yet give it to Bill (he’s the cook these days).  I would also love to be in your village for that Christmas show.  I read about these things all the time in the UK – wish there were something similar happening here.  Good luck with the rest of your rhymes.  I’ll be looking out for pics of the art show.   I need to change how I sign these blog posts – have found there is another "nancy t" out there (maybe more than one) – as well as a "Nancy Jo" (my other alternative).  So, I’ll try out:  nancy b t  (forgot to do that on S-i-a-b’s site just now)

  3. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

     Wrong!  I forgot – the msn ID of nancy b t was also taken – so, it’ll have to be NancyBMA. 

  4. Anne says:

    Sorry Colin!  And no, the recipe wasn’t there with you in mind – although I bet you could do it – and the housemates would love a slice! It’s definitely an Impressive Pudding – and SO EASY! I’ll make it for you (sans ‘bits’) when next you visit. Promise. OK?

Leave a Reply

