how remarkable!

Well, thank you my audience – or perhaps I should thank stuck-in-a-book, as without his link none of you would have troubled to visit.
Since I now feel I may have the odd visitor I will try very hard not to accidently erase important bits – like explaining in my last that I had been to a painting class – but I guess the brighter ones among you worked that out!
Nancy – it’s good to meet you.  I enjoy your bits on stuck-in-a-book.
I could use this space to tell you all the truth about s-i-a-b – but I have to face him from time to time, so I won’t.
 
Today was a medley of still-sorting-out-the-mess and dashing here and there doing all sorts of slightly crazy things – like crawling round the floor with a group of pre-school children followed by a ‘flu jab – queuing with the over 65’s.  I must water a tree fern (hardy to -15 degrees) before attacking the ironing (huge pile of acquired linen – my ‘inheritance’ – of little value but much use).  The day started well – the sunshine got me out pounding the streets of our village (at a sedate pace – forget images of lycra and jogging – think comfortable shoes and a thoughtful stroll)
I used the time to try out (in a low mutter) a few ghastly rhymes – the beginnings of my offering to help complete this season’s village pantomime.  So, rhymes for Cinders, Prince, cold and forlorn to my rescue please.  Ah s-i-a-b ….. when will I ever finish the true magnum opus?
The afternoon ended with me crawling round (again) on all fours and grabbing – successfully – the lop-eared rabbit which had made a powerful escape bid (again) from across the road.  The scratch he gave me in the process was little more painful than the ‘flu jab, but less efficacious.  Hey-ho.
See you again I hope.  Sorry there are no book titles today – but I’ll try to do better as the books flood in to my charity bookshelves aka The Honey Pot – which operates out of the garage once a week on a Saturday morning.  The pile of "I’d better have a look at this before it goes on the shelves" books beside my bed grows ever larger.  Come home Simon and sort me out"!
Adieu.
 
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to how remarkable!

  1. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

    It’s good to meet you too.  As I’ve mentioned before in s-i-a-b comments, my husband is a retired academic librarian from the University of Massachusetts.  We live in Amherst Massachusetts in the middle of a five-college area in three towns closely spaced (9-10 miles at the most).  Three of the schools are here in Amherst.  There’s a lot of cooperation among the five, free bus from one to another, use of meal cards at other sites (convenient if taking a class there), shared online library catalogs (requested books are delivered to the home campus – very convenient), and in many other ways too.   I’ll be following s-i-a-b’s time at the Bodleian.  We really enjoyed our time visiting there and the one week wasn’t nearly enough.  I’m also interested in your work with the Honey Pot – so will check in again. 

Leave a Reply

