An unremarkable life

 So, this blog thing – thought it was time I got in on the act.
Don’t expect hi-tec or anything like that.  I’m definitely ‘out of the ark’ but if you want a keyhole on an unremarkable life then this is your place!  Come in.  Make yourselves at home – kick off the shoes… but I’d rather you didn’t put your feet on the coffee table.
An unremarkable day – except that I’ve just said goodbye to my two sons – off in to the big wide world of work.  End of an era etc.  Ought to be feeling sad or something – but actually, all I can feel is achy legs and a strong desire to curl up with a book rather than face the big clear-up after a very busy party weekend a week ago (silver wedding shindig)  The aforementioned sons were brilliant at helping to sort out the muddle, but caused their own, just by leaving home and, in any case, there’s still loads of clutter to put away from the mass catering. Why is it more fun to get things ready than it is to put them neatly away?  We all feel it – it should be an easy question to answer, but when you get down to it, anticipation can’t be the only excuse.  Ideas please on how to make it more fun.
Oh dear!  The paragon (aka husband) is starting the clearing up, so I suppose I ought to join in and show willing.
I may come back and bore you later – if I can find a moment in the hectic whirl of domesticity and rural jaunts.
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An unremarkable life

  1. Unknown says:

    Do the clearing up (or any other undesirable job) in manageable chunks with a treat at the end: say, 30 mins work followed by tea/coffee and the paper. I am usually so amazed at what I can do in a mere 30 mins that I immediately do another 30 (with another little treat at the end of that one!) One doesn’t seem to get bored or tired this way.Mantra: DON’T PUT IT DOWN, PUT IT AWAY!We have painters in following a flood (just a bath, not Noah + ??? breeding couples!) and rooms require emptying and sorting. I am finding books I forgot I had ever owned! I’ll come back after the next session for a cuppa with you!

  2. Anne says:

    The kettle’s on.  Earl Grey or ‘normal’?  Might even find a biscuit!
    Now there’s a book to cheer the day "A nice cup of tea and a sit down" (I think)
    OVW

Leave a Reply

