Four more to enjoy

Here are some more delights for your delectation – as OV and I spend part of today examining our ash trees for ‘ash die back disease’ :(

Stokesay Castle

Stokesay (church from the castle)

Stokesay courtyard (from castle)

‘Classic’ Stokesay view

And, just in case you are in any doubt, yes, I love castles and this is one of my favourites!
(English Heritage, Shropshire)

This entry was posted in castles, Doorways, memories, ruins. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Four more to enjoy

  1. Ooooohhh. Ahhhhhh. *sighs in delight, as a fellow castle lover*

  2. apthomas says:

    In which case you’ll enjoy seeing some more castle shots in due course – none so ‘cosy’ as Stokesay – but maybe the cream tea in the garden coloured my opinion of the place!

  3. Susan in TX says:

    I love that view of the courtyard. It must be wonderful to live in a land of castles! :)

    • apthomas says:

      I love them – in the days of ‘topic approach teaching’ “Castles” was one of my favourites with 6 and 7 year olds – with a visit to a castle thrown in for good measure. The children loved climbing up and down the stairs and marching along the battlements – but I guess the reality of William the Conquerer subduing the nation and attacking the Welsh wasn’t quite so pretty!

  4. I’ve just discovered your space and very fine it is too Mrs T! Love the doorway photos.

  5. Mary says:

    Lovely Stokesay pics – I remember it well!

  6. apthomas says:

    The Solar always takes my breath away – but maybe it’s climbing all those stairs!

Leave a Reply

